Scientific and Clinical Board

Paul G Ambrose, Pharm. D., FIDSA

Paul G. Ambrose, Pharm.D., F.I.D.S.A., is President of the Institute for Clinical Pharmacodynamics (ICPD), Latham, New York, and an Honorary Research Fellow in Infectious Diseases at the University of Oxford, Oxford, UK and Adjunct Associate Research Professor at the University at Buffalo, Buffalo, New York. Dr. Ambrose’s areas of scientific inquiry primarily involve anti-infective translational science, with the goal of improving patient care through the application of pharmacokinetic-pharmacodynamic (PK-PD) principles. Dr. Ambrose received his Pharm.D. from the University of the Pacific and completed a Post-Doctoral Fellowship in infectious diseases at Hartford Hospital.

Mark Noe, PhD

Mark Noe, Ph.D., is Vice President of the Groton Center of Chemistry Innovation, an interdisciplinary department comprised of structural biology, analytical chemistry, synthesis technology, experimental design and computational analysis supporting Worldwide Medicinal Chemistry. In addition to his scientific leadership, Dr. Noe leads a number of supporting teams within Pfizer Research and Development, including Academic and Industry Relations for the chemistry discipline. He serves on multiple external scientific advisory panels for both academia and the biotechnology industry. Dr. Noe received his Ph.D. in organic chemistry from Harvard University.

Karen Bush, PhD

Karen Bush, Ph.D., is a Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology and a Professor of Practice in the biotechnology program in the Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology at Indiana University, where she is also an Adjunct Professor of Biology. She currently leads a small research group that evaluates new antibacterial agents and novel resistance mechanisms in carbapenem-resistant Enterobacteriaceae (CRE). Dr. Bush was involved with pharmaceutical research from 1973 to 2009, primarily working in the area of antibiotic drug discovery and development at Squibb (Bristol-Myers Squibb), Lederle (Wyeth), Astra and Johnson & Johnson Pharmaceutical Research & Development. She is especially known for her work on beta-lactamases. Dr. Bush was a member of research teams that served to discover and/or develop aztreonam, piperacillin-tazobactam, levofloxacin, doripenem and ceftobiprole. Dr. Bush received a Ph.D. in biochemistry from Indiana University.

Louis B. Rice, MD

Louis B. Rice, MD is the Chairman of the Department of Medicine, Joukowsky Family Professor of Medicine, and Professor of Molecular Microbiology & Immunology at the Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University, and the Physician-in-Chief of Medicine at Rhode Island Hospital and The Miriam Hospital in Providence, RI.   He also serves as the Executive Physician-in-Chief of Medicine at the Providence Veterans Administration Medical Center and Women & Infants Hospital.  Dr. Rice is also the President of Brown Medicine, Inc.  a non-profit, academic, multi-specialty medical group with practice in Providence, RI and its surrounding communities.  

Dr. Rice is an international authority on antimicrobial resistance in bacteria.  His research interests include understanding the mechanisms of antibiotic resistance in bacteria; preventing hospital infections; and developing antibiotic usage strategies that will minimize the emergence and spread of antibiotic resistance.

Andrew F. Shorr, MD, MPH

Andrew F. Shorr, MD, MPH, is Director of Pulmonary and Critical Care at the Washington Hospital Center and Professor of Medicine at Georgetown University. He received his undergraduate degree (public policy) from Princeton University, an MPH from Johns Hopkins University, and his medical degree from the University of Virginia. He is currently completing his MBA studies at the Darden School of Business at the Univ. of Virginia. Dr Shorr’s research interests address healthcare outcomes, epidemiology in pulmonology/critical care, and infection in the hospitalized patient. He is specifically focused currently on issues related to anti-infective resistance, novel clinical trial designs, and the unmet need for new therapies. Dr Shorr is the author/co-author of nearly 300 peer-reviewed manuscripts and book chapters. He has served on the editorial board of Chest, currently serves on the editorial board of Critical Care Medicine, and is a reviewer on several medical and critical care journals. He also served as a Fullbright Specialist Scholar in Australia in 2010 and recently won the Sol Katz Award for Excellence in Teaching from the American College of Physicians.

Helen W. Boucher, MD, FACP, FIDSA

Helen W. Boucher, MD, FACP, FIDSA
Helen Boucher is Director of the Infectious Diseases Fellowship Program at Tufts Medical Center and Professor of Medicine at Tufts University School of Medicine.  Dr. Boucher’s clinical interests include infections in immunocompromised patients and S. aureus infections.  Her research interests focus on S. aureus and the development of new anti-infective agents.  She is the author or coauthor of numerous abstracts, chapters and peer-reviewed articles, which have been published in such journals as The New England Journal of Medicine, Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy, Clinical Infectious Diseases, and The Annals of Internal Medicine; she is Associate Editor of Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy.  She has been included in Best Doctors in America since 2009.   In 2011, Dr. Boucher was elected Fellow and Member of the Board of Directors of the Infectious Diseases Society of America.  In 2012, she was elected to the American Board of Internal Medicine Infectious Disease Exam Writing Committee and in 2014, to the American Board of Internal Medicine Infectious Diseases Subspecialty Board.   In 2015 she was appointed to the Presidential Advisory Council on Combating Antibiotic-resistant Bacteria, and elected Treasurer of the Infectious Diseases Society of America.  She was awarded the IDSA Society Citation Award in October, 2015.  Dr. Boucher serves on the Board of Trustees of the Physicians of Tufts Medical Center and The College of the Holy Cross.

Kerry LaPlante, Pharm.D., FCCP, FIDSA

Dr. LaPlante is a tenured Professor of Pharmacy at the University of Rhode Island, an Adjunct Professor of Medicine at Brown University, an Infectious Diseases Pharmacotherapy Specialist, and Director of the Rhode Island Infectious Diseases Fellowship and Research Programs in Providence, RI.  Dr. LaPlante is dedicated to furthering antibiotic research across the full spectrum of healthcare science, from antibiotic development to clinical applications.

Dr. LaPlante has published over 100 peer-reviewed articles throughout her career in high impact peer-reviewed journals such as Clinical Infectious Diseases, Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy, New England Journal of Medicine, Pharmacotherapy and JAMA.

Dr. LaPlante is the immediate past president of the Society of Infectious Diseases Pharmacists (SIDP), an elected Fellow of the Infectious Diseases Society of America, and the American College of Clinical Pharmacy.  She is also an appointed chairperson for the Rhode Island Department of Health Antimicrobial Stewardship and Environmental Cleaning Task Force. Dr. LaPlante serves on the editorial boards for the leading journals in pharmacy and pathogenic microbiology such as Pharmacotherapy and Virulence. She is frequently invited to lecture at national infectious diseases meetings and symposia, which span topics from antimicrobial pharmacology, antimicrobial stewardship, to antibiotic resistance.