Board of Directors

David Meek


David Meek has served as Chairman of the Board since June 2019.  David has been CEO of Ipsen Pharmaceuticals since July 2016 and is also on the Board of Directors of Ipsen. David has over 25 years of experience in the pharmaceutical industry where he has held various global executive positions in major pharmaceutical and biotechnology companies. Prior to joining Ipsen, David was executive vice-president and president of the oncology division of Baxalta Inc.

David started his biopharma career at Johnson & Johnson and Janssen Pharmaceuticals (1989-2004) where he held a variety of senior US sales and marketing positions across therapeutic areas in primary care, specialty care, and oncology.

He then joined Novartis International AG (2005-2012), where he successively served as the global business franchise head for the company’s respiratory and dermatology franchise in Basel, Switzerland; president and chief executive officer of the pharmaceutical division in Canada; and the head of oncology for Northern, Central and Eastern Europe. From 2012 to 2014, he served as chief commercial officer of Endocyte Inc, an oncology biotechnology company.

Prior to his biopharma career David was an officer in the United States Army. He is a graduate of the University of Cincinnati. 

David serves on the Boards of uniQure, PhRMA, EFPIA and Camping and Education Foundation.

Manos Perros, PhD

President and Chief Executive Officer

Manos Perros, Ph.D., has served as our chief executive officer, co-founder and director since May 2015. Prior to this, Dr. Perros worked for AstraZeneca AB as vice president and head of its infection research and early development organization from 2010 to 2015 and as site head for its research center in Waltham, Massachusetts from 2012 to 2015. Prior to joining AstraZeneca, Dr. Perros served as director of the Novartis Institute for Tropical Diseases in Singapore, and prior to that, as vice-president and chief scientific officer, antivirals, at Pfizer, Inc. A chemist by training, Dr. Perros conducted his Ph.D. work in Belgium, France and Germany, and was an associate in the Biophysics department at Yale from 1993 to 1995. Dr. Perros received the PhRMA Discoverer’s Award in 2010.

Heather Behanna, PhD


Heather Behanna, Ph.D., has served as a member of our board of directors since August 2017.  Heather is a Principal at SR One Capital Management; she joined in the Spring of 2019, and is on the board of Second Genome and Dren Bio, and involved in investments in MiroBio and Design Therapeutics. Before joining SR One, Heather worked as a Principal at Sofinnova Ventures, and prior to that, as an Equity Research Analyst at two boutique Investment Banks. Heather was formally a chemist at the Astellas Research Institute focused on early stage hit-to-lead discovery, and served as Adjunct Faculty at Northwestern University.

Heather received her Ph.D. in Chemistry at Northwestern University, MSc. in Organic Chemistry at the Weizmann Institute of Science, and B.S. from Tufts University.

Heather Preston, MD


Heather Preston, M.D., has served as a member of our board of directors since August 2017.  Dr. Preston is a Managing Partner at Pivotal Bioventures and a Senior Advisor to TPG Biotech.  From 2005-2018, Dr. Preston was a Partner and Managing Director of TPG BioTech.  Prior to that, Dr. Preston served for two years as a medical device and biotechnology venture capital investor at J.P. Morgan Partners, LLC, a private equity firm, she was an entrepreneur-in-residence at New Enterprise Associates, a venture capital firm, and was a leader of the pharmaceutical and medical products consulting practice at McKinsey & Co. Dr. Preston currently serves on the boards of directors of Oxford Biomedica (OXB), Alder BioPharmaceuticals, Inc., Otonomy, Inc. and a number of private companies. Dr. Preston received her M.D. from the University of Oxford and a B.S. in Biochemistry from the University of London.

David C. Hastings


David C. Hastings has served as a member of our board of directors since April 2018. Mr. Hastings served as the senior vice president and chief financial officer of Unilife Corporation from February 2015 to June 2017 and as Unilife’s Chief Accounting Officer and Treasurer from July 2016 to June 2017. From October 2003 to October 2014, Mr. Hastings served as executive vice president and chief financial officer at Incyte Corporation. Mr. Hastings currently serves on the board of directors of Scynexis Inc. and VBL Therapeutics Ltd. Mr. Hastings received his B.A. in Economics at the University of Vermont.

Howard Mayer, MD


Howard Mayer, M.D. has served as a member of our board of directors since August 2019.  Dr. Mayer was most recently senior vice president, chief medical officer and global head of R&D, Neuroscience Division at Shire Pharmaceuticals. Previously, Howard was senior vice president and head of Global Clinical Development at Shire. Dr. Mayer joined Shire in 2012 and in his prior role at Shire was responsible for global clinical development (Phase I-IV) across the hematology, immunology, oncology, genetic diseases, GI/metabolic, neuroscience and ophthalmology therapeutic areas. He was also responsible for clinical development operations, clinical pharmacology, and medical devices. Previously he served as chief medical officer at EMD Serono, a division of Merck KGaA, since 2009. Prior to that, he held a variety of global roles at Pfizer Inc. over nearly eight years, including head of clinical development and medical affairs for Virology/Infectious Diseases. Prior to joining Pfizer, he served as director of Infectious Diseases Clinical Research at Bristol-Myers Squibb for five years. Dr. Mayer obtained his BA from the University of Pennsylvania and his M.D. from Albert Einstein College of Medicine in New York, which was followed by an internship and residency at Mount Sinai Hospital and an Infectious Diseases fellowship at Harvard Medical School. He currently serves on the board of directors for Genocea Biosciences, and has served on the board of Autism Speaks in New England since 2011 and on the board of the Melmark Charitable Foundation since 2016. In 2011 and in 2017, he was honored by PharmaVoice as one of the 100 Most Inspiring People in the Life Sciences Industry.